134 Comments
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

I downloaded free trials of Qobuz and Tidal over the weekend. I'm going to give "Loveless" a "spin" inn these premium streaming services and see if I want to keep one of the services permanently.

I'm not a huge audiophile but I would love to know if the difference in quality is noticeable.

Expand full comment

I’ve been using Tidal since Neil & Co. pulled their songs from Spotify (of course, he’s back on Spotify now). Never regretted the move. Interface is very similar, but I feel like Tidal is a bit more artist/music centric.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

How about audio quality? Any noticeable improvement with similar listening tech (not getting tricked-out new headphones or digital-to-analog converters or whatever else)?

Expand full comment

On my stereo yes, but headphones not too much. I ran a test using Jimmy Smith’s The Sermon/Van Gelder Remaster. (A Blue Note classic that features a deep blues groove and swing.) Listened to it on my stereo system via WiFi. The stereo delivery from my speakers was much better using Tidal as compared to Spotify. Not much difference in sound coming out of the L v. R speakers on Spotify. When I compared using my headphones (plug-in Bose SoundSports) there was some difference, but it was not as noticeable.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for this, Marcus! I've never used Tidal, but am at the point where I don't even stream Spotify to my stereo anymore. I guess I've been spoiled by Soundcloud & Qobuz.

Expand full comment
author

I'm genuinely interested to see what you find/don't find. For me, there's a big difference, but I also have terrible hearing, and every little bit of dynacism helps.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Cheri Cheri Lady - Modern Talking

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Yana,

this weekend I listened to BROTHER LOUIE.

It was in the context of CONTENT CATNIP [a blog] discussing the songs of their adolescence.

Their latest blog is all about the Velveteen Rabbit and getting real.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

For the past couple of months I've been obsessed with Robert Caro's biography of Lyndon Johnson, and have been playing the audiobooks nonstop. Fantastic writing by Caro, great narration by Grover Gardner. Highly recommend them!

Title: "The Years of Lyndon Johnson"

1) Path to Power

2) Means of Ascent

3) Master of the Senate

4) Passage of Power

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Your playlist looks stellar - Locked and loaded!

NEW LOVE

St. Vincent: 'All Born Screaming'

Fat White Family: 'Forgiveness Is Yours'

RECENT SHINY

Friko: 'Where We've Been, Where We...' - Conor, is that you?

Bill Ryder-Jones: 'Iechyd Da' - Words can't capture this gem.

Tapir: 'The Pilgrim, Their God...' - Is this a Broadway show?! Going to take some time to process.

OLD GEMS

Wire: 'Chairs Missing'

Television: 'Marquee Moon'

The Heartbreakers: 'L.A.M.F.'

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Just ordered the Tangerine vinyl of "All Born Screaming." Great album.

Expand full comment
author

Right on! I hope you found a couple of new favorites in there. 'Chairs Missing' is an all-timer for me. Your 3 Recent Shiny descriptions have got my curiosity piqued!

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

I early adopted a Pearl Jam release for the first time in years, and I am really enjoying “Dark Matter.” Also been hanging out in Seattle listening to Mark Arm & Steve Turner’s other band Monkeywrench.

Lastly, listening to Debbie Harry’s book, so some 70s and 80s NYC is in the mix.

Have a great week.

Expand full comment
author

Maybe it's just me, but 'Dark Matter' really feels like a return to form for the band. I'm really enjoying it as well.

Speaking of Seattle, Jen Zug tipped me off to this podcast about the city's Teen Dance Ordinance, and the outsized effect it had on the scene there. It's well worth your time if you're looking for something to lsiten to after Harry's book.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/let-the-kids-dance/id1737130706

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Thanks. I’m definitely going to check out the podcast. Appreciate the recommendation.

Expand full comment

Love to see Blake Babies on your list!!

I spent Friday night at an 80s “Goth Prom” night with a large portion of my best music buddies! It was so super fun! Depeche Mode, New Order, Bronski Beat, Joy Division, Ministry, etc…

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

That sounds like a blast! And now I have "You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)" stuck in my head early on this Monday morning. ;-)

Expand full comment

Yes!!! That’s been stuck with me too lol

Expand full comment

Best thing about that song was when Butlins, which runs family holiday parks in the UK, used it in a TV advert showing merry, wholesome children spinning right round on a ride of some sort. Dead Or Alive frontman Pete Burns was a crossdressing, possibly transgender, queer rights activist.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Ha, that's awesome!

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

I'm guessing OMD was in there as well.

Expand full comment

No!! But, they should have been!! It was from 8-12, two DJs taking turns - and I know the one said he ended up having to cut stuff due to time constraints 😂

Expand full comment
author

That sounds like a LOT of fun! And the music--clearly these are my people.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Thee Heavenly Music Association, Teethe, Glixen, Superhaven, Blvck Ceiling - All, s0cliché - 50 Shades, NarrowHead - All , Filejacker - All, Teaching In Trips, Johnny Goth - These Days R Mine, DIIV - Roy's Song, Glitterer... 🫴🏼

Sxmpra & Vana - Black Sheep

Ängie - "Here For My Habits / Venus In Furs"

Brat

Gel

The Jealous Sound - There's No Hope For Us

Knapsack

SAMIAM!

BRONSON - complete l.p.

Health

Fleshwater

F*cking "Ethel Cain" - Everything!

Lund

Softcult - Everything

Gatecreeper

A Beacon School

Corbin

Provoker

🖤🖤🖤 Wax Idols R.I.P.

...that "oughta" hold ya for a min. Heheh much L🖤VE plz keep it up!

Stay Blessed 😙👌🏼💨

Expand full comment
author

You've definitely given us plenty to root through! Please keep 'em comin'!

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

This week I listened to

Ben Webster from Straub's new book

Meade Lux Lewis

Little Mix's Secret Love

banjo players

Ariana Grande

Megan Thee Stallion

Taylor Swift

Les Miserables soundtrack from London

Remasters from Maggie Reilly's ECHOES and MIDNIGHT SUN [26 April 2024]

All the songs from AFTER THE PARTY especially the theme song JAMAICA.

Expand full comment
author
Apr 30·edited Apr 30Author

Great list! And now I'm going to have 'Master of the House' stuck in my head for a while. lol.

Expand full comment
May 1Liked by Kevin Alexander

My LES MIS earworm is LOOK DOWN, LOOK DOWN, NOW EVERYONE LOOK DOWN.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Hey there - first post here for me. With traveling last week I had limited listening time, but I did get quality spins and a lot of joy from -

St Vincent - All Born Screaming (full album listens, but really enjoyed Big Time Nothing and All Born Screaming)

Neil Young - Fu##in’ Up (live version of Ragged Glory recorded last year with Crazy Horse and it sounds amazingly good. I am a bit biased when it comes to Neil though)

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Gotta check out Neil's new album. Pumped to see him in Toronto in July.

Expand full comment
author

Welcome! Hope the trip was great and you got some good shots out of it. I've gotta check out that St. Vincent record!

Expand full comment

Back from my weekend in Leeds to 'Suedehead: The Best of Morrissey', The Beatles' 'Magical Mystery Tour' and venturing into new sonic experiences now with 'Can: The Singles.' On Repeat is a lovely place :)

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I'm glad you're here. Sounds like quite the weekend!

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Looking forward to digging into the playlist as there are several artists I'm not familiar with. It's wild that The Veldt are back -- I saw them open for someone (Jesus & Mary Chain, I think) in the late 80s/early 90s.

My last week was dominated by Calexico, T-Bone Burnett's new one, and St. Vincent's new one (I always wish that I like her better than I do, especially since I study with her drummer, but she's just not my thing).

My main listening was going down the rabbit hole with The Conet Project and other recordings of shortwave radio numbers stations in search of a sample to fit a song on my record. I found it and got permission to use it! If you're not familiar with numbers stations, you might know them from the spooky voice at the end of Wilco's "Poor Places" repeating "Yankee...Hotel....Foxtrot." I'm fascinated by them. Here's a good primer. https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-24910397

Have a great week, everyone! I'm looking forward to your recommendations.

Expand full comment
author

The Veldt have long been favorites of mine, but this article by Billy Cuthrell got 'em back on ym radar:

https://infectioustunes.com/p/the-veldt?r=3cbf2&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web

And thanks for the heads up on the Conet Project! I'm fascinated by that sort of thing, and wound up going down that same rabbit hole.

Expand full comment

Tortured Poets Department: Taylor Swift and also just finished the Smartless podcast interview with Larry David (not music but entertaining enough)

Expand full comment
author

Larry David is always entertaining.

(brb. gotta download that episode)

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

New:

Guided by Voices - Serene King single. Alright, alright ya’ll have talked me into it: time to dive into GBV properly. Really like this first single from the upcoming Strut of King.

Cindy Lee - Diamond Jubilee. Thanks to the multiple folks last week for this recommendation. I listened. I donated. I love. I continue to listen.

St. Vincent - All Born Screaming. Mmmmmmm, ear candy on every track. I was really excited for this record, now I can’t stop listening to it.

Same old thing(s):

Black Keys. Got tix to see in Minneapolis later this year. Ohio Players is a fun listen.

SESSANTA @ Red Rocks 4/25 and 4/26: A Perfect Circle + Puscifer + Primus + the best outdoor venue = excellent shows. The weather was not great either night, but damn were those two shows outstanding.

Expand full comment
author

Glad red Rocks was good (weather aside)!

As for GBV, you're in for a wild ride. Everyone has their favorite record, and they're right.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

The new Justice album, ‘Hyperdrama,’ is an absolute dream. Had it on repeat all weekend—“Mannequin Love” might actually be my own personal song of the summer 😆

Expand full comment
author

That's a new one for me. I'm on it!

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

That new St. Vincent album is fire.

Expand full comment

Metallica's Ride the Lightning

Expand full comment
author

IMO, this is their best record. 'Trapped Under Ice' is an all-timer.

Expand full comment

Totally agree! Are you familiar with the Baltimore hardcore band Trapped Under Ice?

Expand full comment
author

I'm not! I'll have to find them.

Expand full comment

Ride the Lightning walked so Master of Puppets could run 😜

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

This is my take - MOP #1, RTL #2.

Expand full comment
author

Lol.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Got Keith Emerson's "Live at BB King's" recording from a friend, so I've been playing that a lot. But that also made me go back and bust out John Wetton's "Sub-Rosa: Live in Milan" concert, which for my money is one of the best live albums I've ever heard. It's an acoustic show recorded in an old stone church, so the guitar absolutely transcends because of the natural reverb. I also played Rush's "Vapour Trails" a few times this week.

Expand full comment
author

Oh, that Sub-Rosa record sounds awesome! I'll see if I can find it to play.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

I don't see it on Spotify, but one of the tracks is on YouTube.

https://youtu.be/aSVJ3dBW_ns?si=W90CTAGaGjLSQNRZ

Expand full comment
author

Thank you!

Expand full comment

I love that new Bodega record (to be fair, I love all of their albums). I saw them on their current tour and picked it up on vinyl.

Other acts with new material I’ve been listening to a lot lately:

La Luz, always a favorite. Other than frontwoman Shana Cleveland the members have all fully turned over but they’ve maintained a remarkably consistent, summery, psychedelic west coast sound.

Japanese Television. Like La Luz, more surf-adjacent but smart music that brings some new sounds to an otherwise tired genre.

Grazia. Some twee punk via That Dog’s edgier mid-90’s work. Sounds like many other artists, but there’s something enjoyable about their songwriting approach.

Adrienne Lenker. I’ve never been much of a country person, but I predict that’s soon changing in all of us if this sort of thing continues to happen. Holy moly.

Uranium Club. I’ll always be a sucker for any experimental espionage-themed pop.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Still need to see Bodega live! It's a tough ticket to snag here in NYC... Speaking of La Luz, did you listen to Shana Cleveland's Manzanita? Fantastic album.

Expand full comment

Yes! Her solo show in support of “Manzanita” was my favorite last year.

Expand full comment
author

I went to see if Bodega was coming anywhere near here soon, only to find that they'd played Chicago the night before. (sigh) Maybe next time.

Some great (and new to me) picks on here to root through. Thank you for these!

Expand full comment

New to my Top Ten this week:

Girlfriend is Better - girl in red (from the upcoming Talking Head tribute album) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBbowjdK5A8

Listen - Jordan Jones https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ja7kL5pmHHk

Don't Let Me Go - The Black Keys https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMrr7lfAHcY

Expand full comment
author

I love this Girl In Red track. If the rest of the tribute record is as good as this, we're all in for a good time.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

TONS of Paul Weller the last few weeks. I bought tickets for his DC show in September and am way too excited about it.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

That's awesome that you'll see him. We caught him in NYC on his last tour and he was amazing.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Really can’t wait. Also looking forward to the new album next month!

Expand full comment
author

As you should be! :)

Expand full comment

Just for discussion/thinking, here are 2 playlists I'm slowly working on/building up:

1. https://www.pandora.com/playlist/PL:128498826574047793:74638688 ("Covers That Are Better")

2. https://www.pandora.com/playlist/PL:166355011918365480:74638688 ("Covers That Are Still Great")

If you have some favorite covers, let me know what they are! If you disagree with my picks, why?

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

I have a fabulous cover from Ella Hooper and Gina Rose Bruce:

they did DID IT AGAIN which was originally a Kylie Minogue song in her under-rated album IMPOSSIBLE PRINCESS.

This cover was played for the first time on Double J's 10th anniversary [2014-24].

Expand full comment

Can you possibly link to the song? Appreciate the idea!

Expand full comment

Andrew:

I asked Double J very nicely about the Bruce/Hooper cover and this is what I found

https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/doublej-special/dylan-lewis-and-ella-hooper/103763262

You may well find some other songs you enjoy as well that Lewis and Hooper talked about.

[I do hope so!]

The way it works is the songs are on YouTube and Spotify.

Expand full comment
author

Impossible Princess is definitely underrated!

Expand full comment
May 1Liked by Kevin Alexander

Kevin:

Oh yes!

My first exposure to IMPOSSIBLE PRINCESS was this radio-friendly version of SOME KIND OF BLISS back in October 1997.

And then there were these whole different personas Kylie was trying on at that point.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

I can’t view these playlists in the UK but one of my favourite covers is the Joyce Manor version of OMD’s Souvenir

Expand full comment

Lou:

It does seem that the Spotify lists are geoblocked.

Thank you for sharing that Joyce Manor version of SOUVENIR.

One I would like to share is Angie Olsen's version of Roxy Music's MORE THAN THIS which came out a few years ago [2019 or 2020].

Expand full comment

Hey Andrew, I posted a “Lovely Covers” playlist last year with some of my favorite covers if you’re interested: https://open.substack.com/pub/joyinthejourney/p/jitj-playlist-002-lovely-covers

Expand full comment

Thanks, Mark! I just opened this in a new tab for later.

Expand full comment
author

So many good covers squished into one article!

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Better:

Hendrix - AATW (of course)

Spoon - Did You Evah

Metallica - Stone Cold Crazy

Holly Miranda - Nick Of Time

Still Great:

Hole - Credit In The Straight World

801 - T.N.K.

Richard Aufrichtig - One More Cup

Steely Dan - East St. Louis Toodle-Oo

Expand full comment
author

TIL that 'Don't You Evah' was a cover. I had no idea! I'm off to find the original.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

My friend went knew the Natural History, which is how I found out when the Spoon version came out. Somewhere I have MP3s for an unreleased album by them, pretty good stuff.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Some good picks here, thanks! I'm probably gonna add Metallica to "Still Great" (just IMO, the original is every bit as awesome). Will do some noodling on the others, especially Steely Dan!

Expand full comment
author

These are a few of my favorite things:

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/2AvkaAiOocc63yDWhdqaLF?si=a038e902f62f42f0

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Perfect, thanks! I will disagree with some of these, but even if I get one or two, totally worth the dive.

Expand full comment
author

Life would be boring if we agreed on everything! :)

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

I agree!

Wait a sec...

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

I just discovered Amelia Cobrun. Take a little Mazzy Star and mix it up with The Wicker Man. LP is fantastic! Video reminds me that music videos can be awesome! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2A73yMsJcPU

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

I can always count on the comments from “What’re you listening to?” to unearth some new or new to me hidden gem and this is a great one! Thanks for the rec!!

Expand full comment
author

Same here! It always makes this part of the week fun.

Expand full comment
author
Apr 30·edited Apr 30Author

That's a new one for me. I'll check her LP out!

Expand full comment

I love rabbit holes when they unearth (see what I did there?) stuff you'd think was an Onion spoof if someone told you about it. Meet Matisyahu, a Jewish American singer, rapper, beatboxer, and reggae musician. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XV8cTCDdfME

Expand full comment

I've seen him live a couple times, he was great.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

I loved him in 2006 and 2007!

Yes - the deep reggae.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Oh yeah, Matisyahu was a favorite of mine back in the day!!

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

It was a light week for listening, however I did score some new vinyl, Joe Ely and Warpaint. I have listened to various members of The Flatlanders for many, many years and I picked up Warpaint at a bargain price, they are very atmospheric, sort of like Low with an all female cast. Peter Gabriel is another veteran of the turntable. I have a deep catalogue of Iron & Wine, so I had to listen to their newest offering, it is quite possibly the best of their recordings, I am enamoured by it, now I have to hunt down a hard copy.

Peter Gabriel - Shaking The Tree

Joe Ely - Joe Ely

Joe Ely - Honky Tonk Masquerade

Warpaint - Warpaint

Iron & Wine - Light Verse

Expand full comment
author

This is a solid mix!

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Thanks

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

I’ve been listening to Neil Young’s On the Beach album that turns 50 this year. And a Brooklyn Band named Hospitality album Trouble that turned 10 this year. I really like the track, Last Words, off of Trouble.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

New: Hovvdy's new S/T double album. Hard to go wrong with song names like 'Song For Pete'

Old: Extraordinary Machine by Fiona Apple

Embarrassing: Having to explain to your 16yo that the new girl in red song is a cover

Expand full comment
author

On the plus side, it's a good cover.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

If you can make any of GBV's shows this Spring/Summer/Fall, just do it. You will *not* regret it.

https://www.guidedbyvoices.com/tour

Of course their setlist is 40+ songs

https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/guided-by-voices/2024/madison-theater-covington-ky-3bab2408.html

Expand full comment
author

I may or may not have already put a time off request in for August 25th...

Expand full comment

Since I'm the father of a teenage girl, and I have 11 female fifth graders in my class, I was obligated to listen to Tortured Poets Department. I have to admit, aside from the first two tracks, I had to keep checking to see when a new song was playing because everything seemed like one, VERY LONG track.

In my classroom, I've been spinning Beach Boys' Pet Sounds and Al Green's Greatest Hits. Great music for independent student work time.

Expand full comment
author

What do the kids think of Pet Sounds and/or Al Green?

Expand full comment

They don’t recognize any Al Green, but love the overall vibe. More students recognize The Beach Boys and sing along while they work.

Expand full comment

They call it Stormy Monday so I just queued up my blues folder

Bessie Smith --- > Blind Boys of Alabama ---- > Buddy Guy --- > Buffalo Nichols

If you like blues and are wondering if there are vibrant blues artists less than 80 years old you should check out Buffalo Nichols. Old timey blues song structure but modern themes.

From Milwaukee.

Expand full comment
author

You had me at 'Milwaukee.'

Expand full comment

Not by accident I added that minor detail :)

Expand full comment

Dumpstaphunk. I've been to New Orleans several times and really like the street music. This is just a fun band with somewhat that sound. Ivan Neville is the son of Aaron Neville and musical talent seems to run in the family.

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

This morning I listened to Chet Faker’s “Thinking in Textures” EP on vinyl. His cover of No Diggity is 🔥

Expand full comment
Apr 29Liked by Kevin Alexander

Recently read a fantastic book about Peasants by Patrick Joyce, hence the tone of this season’s mix I finished last week.

https://spotify.link/R9SQDZYrcJb

Expand full comment
author

Any playlist that stats off with 'Faron Young' is alright by me! That's a great mix.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Thank you!!!!

Expand full comment

Glad to see Bodega on the playlist. I’ve had that on heavy rotation the last couple of weeks. Some other stuff, mostly older, I’ve been enjoying lately:

John Coltrane, Ole

Radiohead, Amnesiac

Mission of Burma, Signals Calls & Marches

The Messthetics & James Brandon Lewis

Bowie, “Heroes”

Expand full comment
author

I listened to The Messthetics last night while I was at my son's soccer practice. What a record!

Expand full comment

I'm not surprised. Someone had suggested I start with Live At Stubbs and it made me want to be there

Expand full comment

Today I'm listening to Fairport Convention, their self titled US Pressing from 1969.

Expand full comment
author

Right on!

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

The Dave Matthews Band were recommended to me a few days ago and now I can’t get enough of them.

T. Rex ‘Electric Warrior’ for my most recent post, and other Marc Bolan odds and ends.

I’ve not listened yet, but have just read an interview with Fat White Family in The New Cue and I’m intrigued.

Expand full comment
author

I haven't caught up to your article yet, but I'm hoping to read it later today!

For anyone reading, this is the one Ian mentions:

https://open.substack.com/pub/iansharp/p/trex-electricwarrior?r=3cbf2&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web

Expand full comment

Thank you 😊

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Great playlist! I’m enjoying the Ducks Ltd album and I absolutely love MADRA. Sickly Sweet is definitely my track of choice.

I’ve been giving the English Teacher album a lot of play this week. It really is excellent! Bess Atwell also released a new EP yesterday which is beautiful. She has a fabulous voice. I’ve been unrelated exposed to the Parquet Courts ‘Stoned and Starving’ on two separate occasions this week which has prompted me to investigate the rest of their music. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Expand full comment
author
Apr 30·edited May 1Author

Please do! Lots of Parquet Courts fans here.

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Been leaning in to Marika Hackman’s latest, Big Sigh, and was excited recently to learn she has an accompanying acoustic EP (Little Sigh).

Other than that I’ve spent much of the last week enjoying Hats, the 1989 release by The Blue Nile. A track from the album was included on Ian Sharp’s LP playlist last weekend and it reminded me of one of my best friends from high school that passed away at the beginning of last year.

Fraser had introduced me to the album, which he adored, back when it was released. But try as I might (and I tried hard because he was one of my “musical mentors” with impeccable taste in music), as a reggae-crazed 18-year old, I just didn’t get it. It didn’t work for me.

Fast forward 36 years, and over three decades since I’d even thought of the band, and I found myself loving the album. My musical taste has clearly changed or matured to the point where I found myself kinda falling in love with it.

Fraser’s birthday was on Friday - he would’ve been 53 - and I haven’t felt as close to him since his death as I did last week listening to Hats.

Expand full comment
author

Oh man, I'm sorry about your friend. I'm glad the record brought some relief!

Expand full comment

I've been prepping for a gig I'm sitting in on with a local band so my week and weekend was spent learning their songs: https://www.cosmicsuperheroes.com/audio

Expand full comment
author

Right on! When's the show?

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Friday I was most psyched for the new Iron & Wine (very good, but can't deal with Fiona Apple so that's one song down) and most surprised by Golden Drag's Twin Paradise (it's been a few years and this is even better than the last one). Other than that, spent most of the weekend editing clips for my April podcast - coming soon!

Expand full comment
author

I'm looking forward to it!

Expand full comment
Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Love seeing Ducks Ltd. on there - good Canadians! Other recent Canadian gems include Charlotte Cornfield, Close Talker and POSTDATA. And Cowboy Witchcraft by Kue Varo is a really great album.

Expand full comment

Thanks Kevin! May 24th, downtown Raleigh at a place called Slim's. Funny how I listen to songs so differently when I have to play them.

Expand full comment

Thanks Kevin, I've been listening to a lot of the music by The Cat's Miaow which has recently been reissued by World Of Echo - some beautiful soft pop sounds by the folks who were also in Hydroplane and Bart & Friends -

https://thecatsmiaow.bandcamp.com/album/skipping-stones-the-cassette-years-92-93

Expand full comment
Apr 30·edited Apr 30Liked by Kevin Alexander

Also I had quite a bit of good fortune scouring the CD dollar bins of several record stores during our trip through a few States and picked up 45 albums for less than the price one new record would cost me and been slowly going through them - found 2 albums by The Innocence Mission that I thoroughly enjoyed as well as albums by The Mighty Lemon Drops, Elvis Costello, Tim Finn, David Kilgour, Amy Rigby & a two for 1 album by Shoes to name a few - it's going to take me a while to go through them all :)

Expand full comment
author

Some great finds Wally!

Expand full comment

When I don't know what else to listen to, I press shuffle on this massive playlist I've put together over the years I've worked on a novel of the same name. Feel free to do the same! But hold on to your hat--this trip to the Underworld has more than one unexpected turn! https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0N9HmbCMThDDn3mYnyNON1?si=41633b3b4b954462

Expand full comment
author

I just queued it up and put it on shuffle. Should be a fun morning!

Expand full comment