142 Comments
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Christian Löffler’s new album „A Life” ✨☁️🎶 https://open.spotify.com/album/4NFeATnC0BhLtvXInTdO9R?si=3Oin5dReTLu19-w3_Gptug

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Kevin Alexander

Listening to this now. Digging it! Great rec.

Expand full comment

awesome, I'm glad it clicked with you ✨

Expand full comment
author

This was great! Thanks for getting it on my radar!

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

happy to hear that, enjoy! ☀️

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Chris Isaak - Wicked Game :)

Expand full comment
author

A classic!

Expand full comment

My favorite song of the year so far is Ani DiFranco's latest single, "The Thing At Hand." Its lyrical message, tone, sparse arrangement, and vibe just do it for me.

https://open.spotify.com/track/5VkWvLPHbdn9f3iFqM3er8?si=5afc5419a8c9415c

Expand full comment
author

Loved the vibe on this track. Feels like I should've listened to it at 2 or 3 AM instead of during the light of day, though.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I bought Chic's third album Risqué yesterday. Fantastic disco soul from a fantastic band.

Expand full comment
author

Right on!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Hey brain trust! Thanks for all the help last week with the goth/punk playlist. It's really coming along well, and I've added some stuff toward the bottom: https://www.pandora.com/playlist/PL:198494836309887817:74638688

Killing Joke, Subhumans, Butthole Surfers, and Misfits all made their debuts. My hope is that some of the faster punk songs don't overwhelm the gloom/goth elements of the others, so trying to balance punk and goth in roughly equal measures.

Expand full comment
May 11Liked by Kevin Alexander

Killing joke came to my 21st birthday party back in the day!

Expand full comment

Holy crap! What year was it?

Expand full comment

Well I’m 62 so it’s been a while! They were just becoming huge, and were playing in Geneva , and I was dating the lead singer of a local band at the time, so word got out and suddenly all of them showed up! It was mayhem 😂 The girls went crazy, and we found underwear in the bathrooms the following day 😂😂😂 Epic!

Expand full comment

Let's see... 41 years ago was 1983 (that kind of hurts to type). Great time to see these guys! They hadn't made most of their awful stuff yet.

Expand full comment
May 11Liked by Kevin Alexander

I wish you hadn’t done the math!!! 😂 But those were fun times! I saw so many great bands. Simple Minds, The Police, Ultravox, Eurythmics, Genesis…

Expand full comment
May 12Liked by Kevin Alexander

I would have loved to see Annie Lennox and Eurythmics around 84 or 85. Wow.

Expand full comment
author

Wait, what?!

Expand full comment

You have some great stuff on your playlist! Love the Cowboy Junkies - they are going to be in Iowa City 10/4 and that’s just 45 minutes from me! Also love the Velvet Underground and the Smithereens!

This week, I’ve been stuck on two songs: the Black Keys - Beautiful People (Stay High) and Shaed - Everybody Knows I’m High.

Expand full comment
author

Nice! Are you planning on going to the show?

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Thanks for the podcast recommendation last week. Really enjoying “Let the Kids Dance!” The comparison to “Footloose” killed me. Been listening to some Seattle bands to keep with the theme: Mudhoney and Love Battery. Frank Turner’s new LP has been in the mix. Also, been returning to some DLR Van Halen.

Expand full comment
author

I'm glad you're enjoying the pod! Always a good time for Mudhoney & DLR-era VH.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

NEW & SHINY

The Lemon Twigs: 'A Dream Is All We Know' - They've done it again!? Pet Sounds Pt. II?! Another brilliant album, barely a year since the last.

Kamasi Washington: 'Fearless Movement' - Another monumental, statement from the master. Snagged orch seats to the tours Saturday premiere in NYC - WOW!

Camera Obscura: 'Look to the East, Look to the West' - Akin to a shimmery, comforting, smile inducing, cool breeze.

Boeckner: 'Boeckner!' - Do you love Wolf Parade, Divine Fits or Operators? If yes, then you will enjoy Boeckner.

POLISHED GEMS

Baby Huey: 'The Baby Huey Story'

Stiff Little Fingers: 'Inflammable Material'

Dexys Midnight Runners: 'Searching For The Young Soul Rebels'

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Great list, and very cool about the Kamasi tickets. I've had the good fortune to see him twice, once on a double bill with Herbie Hancock, and he and his band were brilliant both times.

Expand full comment
author

Now, this is a mix! I still need to give the new lemon Twigs a close(r) listen.

Expand full comment

Looking forward to picking up the new Camera Obscura album when I get to the record store lTer this week. Also really like the stuff I've heard by The Lemin Twigs 👍

Expand full comment

Spent most of the last two weekends listening to livestreams from the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival. Little Freddie King, Marcia Ball, Charmaine Neville, Tuba Skinny, Kenny Barron. That's just the ones I remember off the top.

Probably the highlight for me was Danilo Perez John Patituci & Brian Blade doing a Wayne Shorter tribute. I got to see this same group last year at the Detroit Jazz Festival - sublime.

I just love this shit so much and I will get to N'Awlins to see this festival in person sometime if it kills me. New Orleans is the cradle of American music. I hear the food is pretty decent too ;)

WWOZ radio out of New Orleans is a national treasure. When they're not doing live broadcasts from some festival or another (which they do a lot) they'll play an eclectic variety depending on the day & time. Contemporary Jazz, old timey trad jazz, Blues, Old school R&B, Cajun / Zydeco, Gospel, Rap & Hip Hop, bluegrass, traditional "New Orleans music" which is pretty much a genre unto itself.

Not much New Order, sorry Kevin ;(

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Well said on the WWOZ praise. Old-school radio at its best.

Seeing Brian Blade was one of the reasons I went back to drumming (my first instrument) after 25 years on guitar. An absolute master!

Expand full comment
author

Haha. There's still to get some in for next week's list. :)

Seriously though, WWOZ sounds fantastic.

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

WWOZ is amazing. They call themselves "the greatest radio station in the universe," and I'd wager it's true. And you can stream them.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Cowboy Junkies, Spoon and Courtney Barnett. Based on those, I already know it's going to be a great playlist.

Last week I listened to quite a lot of Shearwater and last weekend I listened to even more than quite a lot of Fields. Here's this week's Recent and Decent playlist for anyone who fancies new and loud stuff: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/4ZYH6R561DlweJjILthg66?si=jUIxGeVpReKdDTs696YJ1Q&pi=rY3Ooi5LTQaxi

Expand full comment
author

Right on! Thanks for the link!

Also, for anyone looking for a playlist for the BBQ, Matt's got you covered: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/372njr9WENRQFtWVimXbr1?si=5ae11869b76846cf

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Greetings! As I’m now working on the material for what will become my Album Two, I’ve been delving into the big influences of early 70s rock - from the obvious (Stones, Stooges, Who) into the less familiar and onto the downright obscure! Thanks to the Spotify algorithm I’ve been able to get to 54hrs of the weird & wonderful… here it is: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6GQ9mIeFeeCRwYSb5zRP6p?si=rSdQyMtXRBWZegCpJBc1nA&pi=e-Z89AjBvKQSyW

And from that list I’ve got a ticket to see Robin Trower whose first couple of albums were particularly striking from that era.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I'll second that recommendation for those older Robin Trower albums. It's great to see (and hear) him still putting out good music.

Expand full comment
author

I love it. Glad to see the record is coming right along!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

This morning I decided to spin Donny Hathaway’s “Extension of a Man”. Might go crate-digging later so let’s see what I find!

Happy Monday(s) 😊

Expand full comment
author

Can't think of a better way to kick the week off than that! if you wound up going, did you find anything good in the crates?

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

Yes! An early German pressing of Madonna’s “True Blue” and an old UK pressing of “These are the Blues” by Ella Fitzgerald. A lot of others tempted me (Atlantic Starr, Lakeside) but I chose on the basis of price/availability in store.

Expand full comment
author

Nice! I'm not sure I know a whole lot of Lakeside other than 'Fantastic Voygae," but Atlantic Starr soundtracked a lot of my school dances.

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

If I end up getting the Atlantic Starr one (store is dangerously close to work) I’ll let you know. PS: you’re probably the only one in your time zone awake and responding to stuff right now 🤣 I was going to google what time it was for you, but I then remembered you live in KST (Kevin Standard Time).

Expand full comment
author

Lol. This is true. Clocks say it's 0600, though (GMT -5).

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

Ouch. Coffee and music all the way.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

My last week was all about Bruce Cockburn. I've been a fan since the mid-80s when he was marketed to college radio and he's never come close to us. He was brilliant! I was blown away by his deep catalog of songs, compassionate voice, and amazing fingerpicking which is right up there with Richard Thompson among shows I've seen (and he's turning 79 this month!). He has a gracious vibe about him that is hard to describe -- the kindness and wisdom of a guy who's seen it all. I was happy to hear my favorite song, "Lovers In A Dangerous Time" -- here's a link if you're not familiar.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQCdm-Xhovw

Next to Bruce, I listened to a lot of English Beat, inspired by a great interview with Dave Wakeling on the Rockenteurs podcast. The interview starts after several minutes of intro, so keep fast-forwarding until you hear Dave's voice.

Looking forward to digging into the playlist and hearing your recommendations, as always. Have a great week!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Charity of Night is an all time favorite and so underappreciated. I love how Bruce often seems to fall in love with a particular instrument, for example xylophone on Charity, and that sound influences the entire album.

Expand full comment
author

Right on! 'If A tree Falls" has a pretty consistent presence on my playlists.

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

He's one of those people I need to do a deep dive on.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

My current on repeat play list is: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/37i9dQZF1EpiZRrzSeuNAh?si=f2a504d04f4f4dde

Expand full comment
author

Killer list & thank you for sharing the link!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I love seeing that Spoon track on your playlist - that was a top 20 album for me in 2022. Not familiar with The Trafalgars but enjoying what I've heard so far from their new release - will have to dig in a little further. Courtney Barnett has always been a little hit and miss for me (full disclosure: I probably haven't listened intently enough for that to be an informed opinion) but the track here is lovely.

Over the weekend I fell in love with the 1965 debut album of Los Shakers (https://open.spotify.com/album/25Xd4e83ZUI8AQfNqfNWKL?si=xnHSzOxaRFCCgTUB7dx6qg) that I learned about in Dan Epstein's most recent post: https://open.substack.com/pub/danepstein/p/hugo-and-hugo

For more recent music I've really been enjoying the new album by Jessica Pratt (https://open.spotify.com/album/7hUAyfpXkSE2JT5gOORZO0?si=0YZv7NVWSDOMOz2Q6AIIOg) and recently revisited Molly Lewis' whistling album on the lips from February which is an absolute joy (https://open.spotify.com/album/2EaFjK4isYVM689kcpyIAY?si=VULn1f8uRjuIMUNsg8mGOg)

I've also been spending some time with Ora Coogan's 2023 album Formless which didn't make my AOTY list but perhaps should have (https://open.spotify.com/album/1gGoQORTeRJPQ7fZrqJGMq?si=ymDzHTzORcyenMBr9rXUlQ)

Expand full comment
author

I've been digging that Jessica Pratt record too. Wasn't sure I would, but it grew on me pretty quickly.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Spent all weekend absorbing the new collection of demos from Broadcast.

Expand full comment
author

Oh nice! I should've left my windows open. :)

Expand full comment
May 6·edited May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Saw Ty Segall and Death Cab for Cutie/Postal Service over the weekend.

Also been on a 90s hip hop tear:

- Warren G - "Regulate... G Funk Era"

- Souls of Mischief - "93 'til Infinity"

- Big L - "Lifestylez ov da Poor & Dangerous"

- Goodie Mob - "Soul Food"

Now I'm gonna vibe to that new Kamasi Washington album!

Expand full comment
author

'93 'til Infinity is an all timer. No question. One of my all time faves.

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

Definitely gaining a renewed appreciation for it

Expand full comment

I just bought and i'm spinning this! Interesting Prog Rock from Greece :-)

https://methexis.bandcamp.com/album/potential-deltas-2024

Expand full comment
author

A new one for me! I'll be checking this one out ASAP. Thanks for getting it on my radar!

Expand full comment

My pleasure it's a little bit on the weird side with Greek lyrics too. "Suiciety" is still my favorite from Methexis 😉

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I’ve been revisiting the excellent Divine Machines by Demob Happy having seen them perform live on Friday. This track is just 👌

https://open.spotify.com/track/7CPYnZ1FswBgylUyZavHci?si=xHmYa4V2SB2Fyo73qhXb4Q&context=spotify%3Aalbum%3A6bOoc8jgSOisdtcZTMb63p

I know several people who attended Frank Turner’s world record attempt gigs for the most shows in a 24 hour period (15, I think) to mark the release of his new album Undefeated so I’ve been giving that a listen too. I’m not totally convinced but there are definitely some stand out tracks and lyrically it is incredible heartfelt so I think it’s worth persevering with.

My favourite discovery of this week has been Faith Crisis Pt 1 by Middle Kids which I found after listening to Stacking Chairs on Mallie’s playlist this week. Great album! I would highly recommend a listen if you haven’t already heard it.

https://open.spotify.com/album/4i5d5kGQ1xE3BokTsAkuBU?si=kmiWp6FRSmmkCK-rYOVZTg

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Yeah, I haven't been blown away by Frank Turner's new stuff. Gonna check out Demob Happy now although unfortunately I can't see them after all because we're hosting a Eurovision party! Lame!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

You’ll just have to catch them next time.

Expand full comment
author

I'm on it. Thanks for the recs, Lou! I'm glad the show was good.

Speaking of good things, for anyone scrolling, let me second Mallie's Substack-- I don't know where she finds all these emerging artists, but it's like an inexhaustible supply!

Expand full comment
author

Right on! I hope the panel appearance went well!

Expand full comment

Thank you—it was great!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

New:

Fat White Family - Foregiveness is Yours. New-to-me no longer.

Primus & Puscifer & A Perfect Circle - SESSANTA E.P.P.P. Witnessed these 3 songs live times two last week. Some would say I’m a bit of a fan of all three of these bands and these 3 brand new tracks don’t disappoint.

METZ - Up On Gravity Hill. Fairly good noise rock.

Not as new:

Cindy Lee. I can’t thank some of you enough. Diamond Jubilee has been in HEAVY rotation.

Sassy, old, and delicious:

Tool - Fear Innoculum. I listened to this record on the day it dropped - August 30, 2019 - with 2 of my besties but from different parts of the planet. I was hiking at Rib Mountain state park, one was riding his bike in the AZ desert, and the other one was in his apartment in Istanbul. Technology and distance was crossed to create a shared experience. FI stays in heavy rotation and will remain so until my dying breath.

ORB - discography. I hope these guys get back in a studio.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - discography. Working my way from newest to oldest. Changes. Petro-whatchamacallit. MOTU. Butterfly 3000. Soaking it all in, took a break for a few months. Thinking about catching them on the road this summer.

Expand full comment
author

I'm glad you're digging the Cindy Lee record!

Love that the three of you were listening to FI "together." That's what it's all about.

Expand full comment

Bandcamp gave this some love on Friday, and with good reason. Gorgeous, ethereal, melodic shoegaze-y that is both transportive and in your face. Fram Stereolab to Sonic Youth to moments of Loveless. https://wingedwheel.bandcamp.com/album/big-hotel

Expand full comment
author

Members of Water Damage *and* Steve Shelley from Sonic Youth? yes please!

Expand full comment
May 6·edited May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

We also have a new post up, and I find myself spending a lot of time with the "Regular Henry Sessions" led by producer Plain Old Mike. Especially the songs "Gas Station Sushi" and "Kruk Mullet," which weaves in tons of classic baseball references with "Do you see what happens, Larry" from the Big Lebowski. Say no more for me to be hooked. https://3albums6oldguys.substack.com/p/the-killers-bodega-and-6-new-producer

Expand full comment
author

Right on. Thanks for sharing the link!

Expand full comment
May 6·edited May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Picked up a new Marillion concert from Chile in 2017 where they performed their whole marillion.com album. Underrated album. Great live recording. You can really hear how much the audience is into the show. ( https://marillionofficial.bandcamp.com/album/racket-64-marillion-cl-dotcom )

Also, broke out my Concrete Blonde albums this weekend. Haven't listened to them in a long time. Forgot how good they were.

Expand full comment
author

Marillion! I love it.

Expand full comment

A few new songs I've gotten into this week:

Lil Tune - Gus Dapperton & Electric Guest https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsNGpxbXOcI

Neverender - Justice & Tame Impala https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47YNsf-7Y7c

Talk About Love - Kate Hudson https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_PYfpRFQbs

Expand full comment
author
May 7·edited May 7Author

I'm pretty sure all 3 of these are new to me. Gonna change that here ASAP. Thanks for sharing them!

Expand full comment

I stumbled across this track by Tiny Wishes over the weekend and wow, this is just such a fragile & bittersweet song wrapped up in some incredibly tight harmonies. And the video is perfect

https://youtu.be/kbXXA_aDb8c?si=Oy304GZOZ-_ieFmA

Expand full comment

It's good to see The Smithereens in your playlist, Kevin. I've written about them before, but haven't played a whole album by them in a long while. That will change this week. In terms of what I did listen to....

I've been playing a lot of cinematic ambient music from A Winged Victory for the Sullen. They might be my favorite of that genre. There's a playlist compilation of most of their releases that I've been listening to throughout the day.

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0UPXB1b5QySdXn0IvzKanH?si=42ab47efe8f845bc

Other new release stuff that I've really liked:

Brimheim - Ratking

James - Yummy

Bombay Bicycle Club - Fantasies (EP)

I just saw BBC in concert last week and it was fantastic. Their blend of indie and dance is infectious and they incorporate guest vocalists so well.

I'll stop there.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Completely agree with everything you said about BBC. I saw them a couple of months ago and it was joyous! Personal fav on the new EP is the Liz Lawrence track I reckon.

Expand full comment
author

I hadn't played a whole record by them in a while. Somehow Pat Di Nizio came up (maybe on Twitter?), and before I knew it, I was down a rabbit hole.

Love Bombay Bicycle Club! I'm glad you were able to see them play.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Currently in London, no time for music but I’m wearing my Talk Talk shirt today so I think that counts, haha

Expand full comment
author

It totally counts!

Expand full comment

You had me at Smithereens!

Expand full comment
author

I'm glad you liked it! Great to see you back on here, btw!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I spent at least part of the weekend listening to bullets fly while music by Geoff Barrow (Portishead, etc.) and Ben Salisbury played, AKA going to see Civil War. Excellent on all fronts! I also enjoyed new albums/songs from David Crowell, Mdou Moctar, Jimmy Whispers, Winged Wheel, Latrala, and Camp St. Helene, whose album release show I might attend on Friday. Perhaps most delightful was the cover of Shirley & Lee's A Little Word by the dream duo of Nicole Atkins and Hamilton Leithauser: https://nicoleatkins.bandcamp.com/track/a-little-word. Thank me later!

Expand full comment
author

Will do! Going to listen to this a little later tonight.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Here in Charlotte and the Foo Fighters and HEART are coming to town this week. I’ll be headed to both. Taking my 3-year-old daughter to watch the Wilson sisters rock! 🎸

Expand full comment
author

Heck yeah! What a show for you both!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

The Beatles for my long read, posting later this week. And this morning I started on the Dave Matthews Band Concert in Central Park. No time for it all (even though it’s a holiday in the UK) but the first few tracks are incredible and I’m sure the entire album will be.

Expand full comment
author

Nice! If you think of it, please share the link here once it's up.

Expand full comment
May 9Liked by Kevin Alexander

Thanks, Kevin.

Here's the link: https://iansharp.substack.com/p/gaze-beatles

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Ian! I'm off to read it now.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Currently on repeat:

Bird- Anderson Paak

22 - Bon Iver

Expand full comment
author

Perfect!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I've been enjoying the benefits of finding old hard drives and tape:

https://velocitygirl.bandcamp.com/album/incidentals

https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=paOQrUpcMb8

I'm also struggling (gently!) with about 40 other current and former DJs for parts of the Indie 500 countdown coming up Memorial Day weekend. I am trying to see how many songs I can claim with 'teenage' in the title. No blood has been spilled...yet.

https://www.wvxu.org/media/2024-04-19/inhailer-radio-indie-500-music-marathon-woxy-97x-wnku-tvkiese

Expand full comment
author

Lol. That same found hard drive made my week a lot better too. Stay tuned for tomorrow...

Looking forward to this year's Indie 500. Please make sure to plug it early & often, and I'll try to remember to do so as well.

Expand full comment
May 6·edited May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Being a new subscriber I"m still listening to the On Repeat: The First 100 playlist that Kevin sent!

Revisited Black Keys - Ohio Players and Pearl Jam - Dark Matter

Still playing St. Vincent - All Born Screaming and Neil Young - Fu##in' Up

Expand full comment
author

Welcome! I'm glad you're enjoying the playlist; I really should do another one to get caught up.

Just to tie a couple of those bands together, I saw PJ do an absolutely amazing version of "F*ckin' Up" to close a show once. Still one of my faves by them.

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Kevin Alexander

So . . . have you ever listened to Neil's Mirror Ball album? PJ is the backing band instead of Crazy Horse. Then PJ released the Merkin Ball EP. Check it out if you haven't.

Expand full comment
author

Will do & thanks!

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

Saw Neil a few years ago at Jazz Fest and he opened with a 15-minute Cortez the Killer followed by a 15-minute F#ckin' Up and it was amazing. Eight songs in two hours and fifteen minutes. And Jesus it was good. Even the Monsanto one.

Expand full comment
author

Oh man, that sounds fantastic!

Expand full comment
May 9Liked by Kevin Alexander

It was rocking and cranky and weird in all the ways that make him great after however many decades he's been making music. It was also incredibly muddy!

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

I wanted to get away from my Spotify usual songs. Katie Webster is an American pianist from my neck of the woods. She was born in Texas but played with a lot of Louisiana musicians. I had a coworker who’s father owned a nightclub in a small town in Southwest Louisiana. She would play there, and was known for her boogie woogie style of piano playing. She was the piano player for Otis Redding ,but according to my coworker, was shacked up with a guy, and missed the flight that Otis Redding died on.

Expand full comment
author

Oh wow! I'd never heard that. What an incredible turn of fortune for her. FWIW, that flight ended about a mile from where I'm sitting.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Kevin also I’m really enjoying “Final Summer” by Cloud Nothings. Thanks for the rec.

Expand full comment
author

I'm glad you like it! That whole record is really something.

Expand full comment

Hi Kevin! Just updated Reflect & Relax Cafe and these were the selected:

https://open.substack.com/pub/reflectandrelaxcafe/p/reflect-and-relax-cafe-62?r=tmghd&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web

Expand full comment
author

Perfect! As always, thanks for sharing these here.

Expand full comment

I’m listening to a book my brother recommended on audio called FREE- A child and a country at the end of history by Lea Ypi about living through communism and its ending in Albania. It’s a pretty extraordinary personal memoir.

Expand full comment

Ok I just realized I should be posted about music. Sorry!!

Expand full comment
author
May 7·edited May 7Author

Books and pods count too!

Expand full comment

I'm going to check out the book -- thanks for the heads up! I'm fascinated by life under late-period communism. Anthony Marra's The Tsar of Love & Techno is an all-time favorite.

Expand full comment

Ooh l need to check this out Dave. Thank you! I’m obsessed with this period as well - actually also early revolution Russia too. I think it’s a product of 100% of my genealogy being traced to the region! Been watching “A Gentleman in Moscow” adaptation of the bestselling Amor Towles book with Ewan MacGregor and enjoying it. Same concept of world changing overnight and how a Russian aristrocrat adapts within the confines of a hotel (which is like a time capsule)

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Kevin Alexander

Highlights included a night at the Symphony curated by Alex Prior. Iron & Wine's new album, Light Verse & more. Read all the full list @ https://weatheredmusic.ca and of course, Kevin's mixtape.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for the shout & sharing the link here.

Expand full comment

English Teacher, ‘This Could Be Texas’. My life is better with this band in it. ✌️

Expand full comment
author

This record! Whew! Senior Fix got in my radar here a couple of weeks ago, and yeah-- life is definitely better with this band in it!

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Kevin Alexander

I haven’t dug into it yet, but DK the Drummer just released his long-anticipated collaborative album, Lockers, Vol 1: https://dkthedrummer1.bandcamp.com/album/lockers-volume-1

And I’m eagerly awaiting the release of the new Kiasmos and Half Waif albums.

Expand full comment
author

Right on!

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Kevin Alexander

Listened to quite a bit of Teenage Fanclub in anticipation of seeing them in concert on Cinco de Mayo...and I had to listen to more after the show too.

Also, the new Camera Obscura is quite good.

Expand full comment
author

Only just slightly jealous that you saw TFC live. Slightly... :)

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Kevin Alexander

Kicking in this fine one from the underrated 90s group Jellyfish, bc of @Mona Ali :

https://youtu.be/4KnnOeEW_e8?si=7cbCpcs62QpOi45G

Expand full comment
author

Definitely underrated! I wonder why they weren't bigger. Bad timing, maybe?

Expand full comment
May 8Liked by Kevin Alexander

Yeah, I think that was it. Indie music was going "lo-fi" and minimalist, and they were the opposite of that.

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Kevin Alexander

Brought out a couple old friends and played them right the way through. Aqualung and Tuesday Night Music Club. And I am better for it.

Also played Sarah Shook & the Disarmers "F**k Up" about seventy or eighty times. Great song for those that can relate.

Expand full comment

I'm finally getting into I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight, by Richard and Linda Thompson, one of those records that's been on my radar for years. I'm also reading the really excellent Will Hermes bio of Lou Reed, so I've been digging into the Velvets and his solo stuff as well as stuff adjacent to that like Nico's Chelsea's Girls or that influenced him, like Ornette Coleman. I also just spent time in New Orleans and did a couple shows with a friend's band, Ever More Nest. Their newest one is Out Here Now -- terrific singer-songwriter Americana.

Expand full comment

Oh man, that Richard & Linda record is timeless.

Expand full comment

I know I'm a few days late but I did want to share this new single by Lovejoy which is an absolutely gorgeous song and is taken from their new album, an album which is one of my most anticipated albums of the year:

https://lovejoyofficial.bandcamp.com/track/regency-square-3

Expand full comment

Saw Bombay Bicycle Club in Vancouver on Friday. Best show I've seen in a long time. The band was tight and played from their whole catalog. The crowd was one of the most invested I've ever witnessed.

Expand full comment
author

Oh man, that sounds incredible! I just went and looked and the closest they're coming to me is Las Vegas. Maybe next time...

Expand full comment
May 9Liked by Kevin Alexander

"Use this playlist as a hug when you need it" - by Nobody

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tu_JNtGuj1M

Bonefish Podcast - Sung Tongs turns 20 - breaking down Art Collective's altfolk masterpiece

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MPVwHL82hsw

Neo Soul Jazz - by Mr So Chill

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDh-VHyoY10

At least one song with a ukelele played in a local restaurant.

John Farnham:

SADIE THE CLEANING LADY

RAINDROPS KEEP FALLING ON MY HEAD [this was a big earworm]

YOU'RE THE VOICE

Mark David Hadley

markhadley.uk

https://soundbymark.bandcamp.com/album/flight-paths

https://soundbymark.bandcamp.com/album/burrs

https://soundbymark.bandcamp.com/album/recordings-of-the-sea

https://soundbymark.bandcamp.com/album/through-trains

Owen Kleon - TECH and PERSONALITY [2024 and 2020 respectively]

https://austinkleon.com/2024/04/29/owen-kleons-tech/

https://soundcloud.com/owen-kleon/sets/tech

[this reminded me of my experiments in Music Macro Language in the early 1990s]

Rosemary Clooney on vinyl.

The music around SECRETS OF THE NEANDERTHALS.

Ernystyna Skurjat-Kozek - "In the spirit of Strzelecki" 150th anniversary competition

How does the heart of an explorer grow? - Melanie Horsnell

and most all the songs in the competition which are on YouTube.

Webworm - Calvin talks about LORD OF THE RINGS.

Betthoven on Lulanko.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for all of this, Adelaide!

Expand full comment

Wanted to share briefly:

Maithai's PLAYLIST FINDS YOU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QN6w5kZmtLs

Song right now: Eclipses - Philip Budny

Others which made an impact - Beating Tha Breaks

I Remember by Tell

Expand full comment